Login |  Register |  help
Indians Sports

Town of Manchester Sports Hall of Fame

Varsity - 2008 Season
Posted Saturday, August 30, 2008 by Manchester Historical Society
Sports Hall of Fame      
The Manchester Sports Hall of Fame became a reality on September 18, 1980, when eight men and one woman were officially inducted in the Silk Town sports shrine. More than 100 individuals were screened that first year and the current list of nominees is still around the 100 figure. Today, over 150 honorees have met the criteria for induction. Any person who has resided in Manchester for at least five years and who has made significant contributions to sport over that period of time is eligible. Honorees have come from 18 different sports, plus one in the "sponsor" category. Members represent the ranks of baseball, basketball, football, track, golf, bowling, archery, softball, boxing, soccer, horseshoes, tennis, swimming, billiards, wrestling, horse racing and hockey.
The town’s best includes the first unanimous choice and the first man singled out in 1980, Joe McCluskey. McCluskey, Bill Masse, and Peter Close all were Olympians wearing USA colors.  Professional Major League baseball players listed on the elite local shrine list include Herman Bronkie, Tony Lupien, Moe Morhardt and Tom Kelley. Dave Hayes and Jerry Faye made the grade in the National Football League and Leo Katkaveck was in both the pro Basketball Association of America and the National Basketball Association. Geno Auriemma has been tabbed as the No. 1 women’s college basketball coach and earned a meeting at the White House.
Go to http://www.manchesterhistory.org/nominate.htm to nominate any qualified person or yourself for the Hall of Fame. If interested, please read the Induction Criteria and complete the necessary nomination forms.

This page was created in 0.1094 seconds on server 132